Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

A few questions before I start

Hello all,

Firstly can I say how great this forum is for information, the wonders of open source systems still amazes me! Sorry if any of this has been covered before but I have a few questions and would like a little confirmation before I start building one.

This is my first experience of weather stations and weather monitoring but very quickly came across this site and it looked the perfect fit for my project. I have some experience of arduino programming, diy electronics and control systems which will hopefully give me some chance of achieving this with your help and advice.

I am building a site wide energy model in Matlab/Simulink for small scale wind/solar generation as part of a research project, using historic weather data, a range of typical wind/solar hardware specs along with some other site specific applications and validating the model with real world collected data.

As I need to log more data from the site I'd like to combine the collection and reporting into one system - hence the open source route. Am I correct in thinking the Arduino micros used in this are reaching their hardware limits, both for processing and IO capability? Could this be transferred to a Mega2560 or Uno reasonably easily?

The project will need to be monitored remotely from the site collecting some of the data in relatively high resolution (possibly upto 1Hz, mostly likely logged internally then uploaded in batches) rather than 1min/10min data. I'll then be post processing the data into different timescales to quantify the effect of filtered/averaged data available online, both for time and location as well as response times and filtering of the energy generation hardware.