Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Newbe Help Please

Hi All,
I'm new to this WeatherDuino, so please be patient! Rolleyes 

I'm looking for help to get started. I have some experience with electronics and some with software but not an expert.
I have a Fine Offset weather station now that is a few years old, it works right now but I'm getting tired of the "loss of contact" I keep getting. I'm running Cumulus as well.

I understand I can purchase the working TX and RX boards from this site. I also understand that I could use the sensors from my existing Fine Offset weather station. Is this correct?
I guess I'd need some sort of enclosures for the TX and RX boards as well as power supplies, maybe batteries? Anything else I should plan for?

Anyway, any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,
Gord

Hi Gord

I was in the same position as you when I discovered this site. I also had the fine offset instruments and was getting bored of the lost sensor contacts,  so I contacted Werk via PM and ordered 1 RX and 1 TX to get the system running. I have limited electronics experience but found the whole process quite painless.
The parts list can be found in the forum under circuit boards and parts list. I bought all items needed from Ebay. Some came from China so took a little while to arrive.
After a few months running the system I bought another TX. So now I run 1 TX for the wind instruments and 1 TX for the temp / rain instruments.

Its a great upgrade for the Fine Offset and would highly recommend

Thanks very much for the quick reply, I'm really getting excited about this project now! Smile
Just a few more questions:
1. Which receiver did you purchase? I believe there are 3 to choose from? Is there more than one transmitter?
2. What did you do for an enclosure?  I guess the receiver, being inside, would not be too much of a problem but what about the transmitter? It would need a weatherproof box of some sort?