This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
sorry, this post can be deleted!
#1
I need to do more checking before asking...
Reply
#2
(05-05-2019, 21:26)edr1924 Wrote: I need to do more checking before asking...

I had read the post before you delete it... maybe I can help.

Things to check

- Does the system stops when the TFT is removed?
- Leave display MISO unconnected
- Start just with the BME280 (config software accordingly)
- Touch the 3.3V regulator. Is it running very hot?

Rgs.
MeteoCercal - Air Quality Data
Click here to watch at my ThingSpeak channel



Reply
#3
(05-05-2019, 22:26)Werk_AG Wrote:
(05-05-2019, 21:26)edr1924 Wrote: I need to do more checking before asking...

I had read the post before you delete it... maybe I can help.

Things to check

- Does the system stops when the TFT is removed?
- Leave display MISO unconnected
- Start just with the BME280 (config software accordingly)
- Touch the 3.3V regulator. Is it running very hot?

Rgs.

Thank you very much!,
I will check your suggestions...


But first I wanted to replace the TFT with a LCD screen to see if the system would work but now I get a compilation error ONLY WHEN I change the display type from TFT (3) to LCD (1) ...    I'm getting a bit frustrated after 10 hours debugging until very late yesterday... Confused

But... it will be solved one way or another some day, some time Big Grin


  • I use Arduino 1.8.8 on a linux system with AVR manager 1.6.21. 
  • Deleted ALL libraries leaving only the libraries provided with the WD8.2_b001 download.

ReadManual 

ERROR WHILE COMPILING:
Code:
/home/erik/Arduino/WeatherDuino_P2AT2560_RX_v8.2_b001/RX_TX.ino: In function 'void ReceiveDataRF()':
RX_TX:47:61: error: 'RXled_TFT' was not declared in this scope
  if (activeWindow == TXinfo_Data) RXled_TFT(TX_UnitID, true);

                                                            ^
RX_TX:447:62: error: 'RXled_TFT' was not declared in this scope
  if (activeWindow == TXinfo_Data) RXled_TFT(TX_UnitID, false);

                                                             ^
/home/erik/Arduino/WeatherDuino_P2AT2560_RX_v8.2_b001/Routines.ino: In function 'void RunEvery_1_Minute()':
Routines:374:42: error: 'update_BigClock' was not declared in this scope
  if (activeWindow == 8) update_BigClock();

                                         ^
exit status 1
'RXled_TFT' was not declared in this scope
Reply
#4
(05-05-2019, 22:26)Werk_AG Wrote:
(05-05-2019, 21:26)edr1924 Wrote: I need to do more checking before asking...

I had read the post before you delete it... maybe I can help.

Things to check

- Does the system stops when the TFT is removed?

No, system continues to receive data from the TX board as seen here:

ESP8266 FW Version: AT+GMR  

busy p...
 
Mode station OK
Multiple mux OK
Join AP failure
WiFi connection is OFF
15:36:13 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 0  Full Message: A10000,947,F77,0,0,
15:36:15 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,47E,0,
15:36:18 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,49C,0,
15:36:19 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 3  Full Message: A10003,118,0,0,0,
SystemInit2 DONE!
Mode station OK
Multiple mux OK
Join AP failure
15:36:38 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,46A,0,
15:36:40 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,42E,0,
15:36:43 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,42E,0,
15:36:46 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,44C,0,
15:36:47 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 0  Full Message: A10000,948,F6E,0,0,
15:36:49 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,44C,0,
15:36:50 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 3  Full Message: A10003,118,0,0,0,
15:36:52 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,49C,0,
15:36:55 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,49C,0,
15:36:58 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,49C,0,
15:37:01 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,474,0,
15:37:04 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 0  Full Message: A10000,947,F77,0,0,
15:37:05 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,438,0,
15:37:08 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,49C,0,
15:37:11 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,456,0,
15:37:14 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,4D8,0,
15:37:16 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 5  Full Message: A10005,0,0,0,600,
15:37:17 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,21C,0,
15:37:20 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 2  Full Message: A10002,0,0,4D8,0,
15:37:21 - Station ID: A1  Unit ID: 0  Sensor ID: 0  Full Message: A10000,946,F74,0,0,


- Leave display MISO unconnected

is not connected...

- Start just with the BME280 (config software accordingly)

did that, no change

- Touch the 3.3V regulator. Is it running very hot?

no, can touch is without problems.

Rgs.


I will contact you for ordering a new RX board.
Reply
#5
i have some cheap level shifters lying around, will test those this evening... I fear the 74AHC244 chip has failed although I removed the diode from the atmega board.   But I powered the board without the atmega to check the voltage on several points.
Reply
#6
(06-05-2019, 13:51)edr1924 Wrote: But first I wanted to replace the TFT with a LCD screen to see if the system would work but now I get a compilation error ONLY WHEN I change the display type from TFT (3) to LCD (1) ...    I'm getting a bit frustrated after 10 hours debugging until very late yesterday... Confused

But... it will be solved one way or another some day, some time Big Grin

I understand your frustration, and I apologize you.
Indeed there is a compile error when the display is set to LCD. The fix on the code is quite easy. Hope the recent changes on the code haven't caused any other problem when using the LCD. Honestly I haven't tested it with an LCD display.

Here is a fix for the compile error:

Find this line:

Code:
if (activeWindow == TXinfo_Data) RXled_TFT(TX_UnitID, true);

replace with:

Code:
 #if (DISPLAY_TYPE == 3)
   if (activeWindow == TXinfo_Data) RXled_TFT(TX_UnitID, true);
 #endif


then, find this line:

Code:
if (activeWindow == TXinfo_Data) RXled_TFT(TX_UnitID, false);

replace with:

Code:
#if (DISPLAY_TYPE == 3)
    if (activeWindow == TXinfo_Data) RXled_TFT(TX_UnitID, false);
  #endif


Next Pro2 PLUS software release will include these changes.


(06-05-2019, 17:49)edr1924 Wrote: i have some cheap level shifters lying around, will test those this evening... I fear the 74AHC244 chip has failed although I removed the diode from the atmega board.   But I powered the board without the atmega to check the voltage on several points.

On most of the reported issues of white screen on the TFT, we found that they were related to the 74AHC244 chip, so I believe your deduction is right. Its hard to say what caused a failure on the chip, but they are quite sensitive, specially to static.
As said by PM, a solution is on the way to you.
MeteoCercal - Air Quality Data
Click here to watch at my ThingSpeak channel



Reply
#7
Like One of the things that make this project so amazing is the support,
thank you very much...


BTW: I think most people will use a TFT screen, maybe the LCD part could be obsolete in future updates?
That would make it easier for you on the software part.
My TFT screens were 7 euro each so it's not a money issue.  
Finding the right ones is. Wink
Reply
#8
while waiting for the replacement buffer chip I took the mega board out and connected all with BB wires and some transistor level shifters. could not resist trying this... Tongue

photo

The good news is that the display does work this way!

On the removed, broken 74AHC244 pins 5,6 and 7 were shorted together internally also pins 13 and 14 were connected.
So the cause is obvious although the system is still behaving very strange.

When I receive the new chip, I will replace the mega board also because the system is not behaving as it should.

to be continued!
Reply
#9
One extra thing to update:

after changing the two instances you mentioned I got this error, so I also added the lines if displaytype == 3 etc. there
now it's compiling Smile
Code:
/home/erik/Arduino/WeatherDuino_P2AT2560_RX_v8.2_b001/Routines.ino: In function 'void RunEvery_1_Minute()':
Routines:374:42: error: 'update_BigClock' was not declared in this scope
  if (activeWindow == 8) update_BigClock();

                                         ^
exit status 1
'update_BigClock' was not declared in this scope
Reply
#10
came across another error message:

When I set EASYWEATHER_OUT to 1, I get this compilation error

Code:
/home/erik/Arduino/WeatherDuino_P2AT2560_RX_v8.2_b001/easyweather.ino: In function 'void easyweather_Output()':
easyweather:8:16: error: 'ComLed_PIN' was not declared in this scope
  digitalWrite(ComLed_PIN, HIGH);

               ^
exit status 1
'ComLed_PIN' was not declared in this scope
Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)