WeatherDuino Forum
[Pro2 PLUS] BME280 problem - Printable Version

+- WeatherDuino Forum (https://www.meteocercal.info/forum)
+-- Forum: WeatherDuino Pro2 Weather Stations (https://www.meteocercal.info/forum/Forum-WeatherDuino-Pro2-Weather-Stations)
+--- Forum: Hardware Questions (https://www.meteocercal.info/forum/Forum-Hardware-Questions)
+--- Thread: [Pro2 PLUS] BME280 problem (/Thread-Pro2-PLUS-BME280-problem)

Pages: 1 2


BME280 problem - jonnyhk - 30-04-2020

Hello

I'm finally building my Pro2 plus and discover that I got 2 different BME280
1 with 7 pin ( BME280 adafruite) and one more simple with 6 pin !
On the pcb it's only 4 pin... 3.3 v, gnd, scl, sda

How to proceed ?

regards
jk Angel


RE: BME280 problem - Werk_AG - 01-05-2020

(30-04-2020, 17:33)jonnyhk Wrote: Hello

I'm finally building my Pro2 plus and discover that I got 2 different BME280
1 with 7 pin ( BME280 adafruite) and one more simple with 6 pin !
On the pcb it's only 4 pin... 3.3 v, gnd, scl, sda

How to proceed ?

regards
jk Angel

Hi jk,

If the sensor you have works in I2C mode, just connect those four pins on the pcb to the corresponding pins on the BME280 sensor module.
SCL, SDA are the standard designation for I2C communication lines. If your sensor module doesn't have those designations, try to ask manufacturer if it works in I2C mode, and what pins to use.

I quick search on the Adafruit BME280 datasheet will show you what pins to use: https://learn.adafruit.com/assets/26693

Rgs


RE: BME280 problem - bombenm - 15-06-2020

(01-05-2020, 04:28)Werk_AG Wrote:
(30-04-2020, 17:33)jonnyhk Wrote: Hello

I'm finally building my Pro2 plus and discover that I got 2 different BME280
1 with 7 pin ( BME280 adafruite) and one more simple with 6 pin !
On the pcb it's only 4 pin... 3.3 v, gnd, scl, sda

How to proceed ?

regards
jk Angel

Hi jk,

If the sensor you have works in I2C mode, just connect those four pins on the pcb to the corresponding pins on the BME280 sensor module.
SCL, SDA are the standard designation for I2C communication lines. If your sensor module doesn't have those designations, try to ask manufacturer if it works in I2C mode, and what pins to use.

I quick search on the Adafruit BME280 datasheet will show you what pins to use: https://learn.adafruit.com/assets/26693

Rgs

Hello , I engage in this discussion.

I finished building the weatherduino pro 2 receiver with the 4pro wireless display. I immediately noticed that I have problems with the bme280 sensor. When I receive the data from the tx, the 4pro wireless display shows the humidity and external temperature value while the rx does not transmit the data from the bme280. In this case the wireless display shows the temperature value = 0.0 while the atmospheric pressure = - 2147484 mb. I purchased the bme280 sensor from adafruit site and I am sure of the connections and settings made. Anyone have any suggestions to give me. Thank you. Regards.


RE: BME280 problem - Werk_AG - 15-06-2020

Hi,

You can try using the MultiSpeed_I2C_Scanner.ino utility (included in the software package) to check if the sensor is correctly detected on the I2C bus.
The BME280 should be at address 0x76

Rgs.


RE: BME280 problem - bombenm - 16-06-2020

(15-06-2020, 21:01)Werk_AG Wrote: Hi,

You can try using the MultiSpeed_I2C_Scanner.ino utility (included in the software package) to check if the sensor is correctly detected on the I2C bus.
The BME280 should be at address 0x76

Rgs.

Hi, 

I used the i2c scanner and i found the following adresses:
0x50
0x57 RTC module
0x68 RTC modale
0x77 BME280

Is there something wrong?
Thank you


RE: BME280 problem - bombenm - 16-06-2020

(16-06-2020, 18:25)bombenm Wrote:
(15-06-2020, 21:01)Werk_AG Wrote: Hi,

You can try using the MultiSpeed_I2C_Scanner.ino utility (included in the software package) to check if the sensor is correctly detected on the I2C bus.
The BME280 should be at address 0x76

Rgs.

Hi, 

I used the i2c scanner and i found the following adresses:
0x50
0x57 RTC module
0x68 RTC modale
0x77 BME280

Is there something wrong?
Thank you

Line 84 and line 90 of Config_option.h tab has been set to 0 for the BME280 sensor.


RE: BME280 problem - Werk_AG - 16-06-2020

Hi,

Seems your Adafruit BME280 module isn't configured to use the default address which is 0x76
Please check Adafruit documentation, so see how to change it from 0x77 to 0x76

Rgs

EDIT

From Adafruit documentation:

Quote:By default, the i2c address is 0x77. If you add a jumper from SDO to GND, the address will change to 0x76.



RE: BME280 problem - bombenm - 16-06-2020

(16-06-2020, 21:07)Werk_AG Wrote: Hi,

Seems your Adafruit BME280 module isn't configured to use the default address which is 0x76
Please check Adafruit documentation, so see how to change it from 0x77 to 0x76

Rgs

EDIT

From Adafruit documentation:
Quote:By default, the i2c address is 0x77. If you add a jumper from SDO to GND, the address will change to 0x76.

Ok, I Will try to read the adafrut documentation in order to change the adress.  
I will keep you informed. 

thanks


RE: BME280 problem - Werk_AG - 16-06-2020

This module, is widely available on eBay, its a lot cheap, and doesn't require any change on the address, as by default it uses the standard BME280 address of 0x76

[attachment=2389]


RE: BME280 problem - bombenm - 17-06-2020

Hi  
 You were right.
Conecting the SD0 pin to GND ,the address changes to 0x76. Now it works.

Thank you for your help.
regards