WeatherDuino Forum

Full Version: Maintenance Air Quality instruments
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hello,

since I would like to set up my air quality monitor instruments as next step I would like to know if somebody already has experience concerning maintenance.
My main questions would be if somebody has problems with oxidation, stuck dust in the PM sensor or animals like spiders in the system.
I would be glad if you could provide me some input.

Im planning to protect my instruments with a fine net on the entrances of the radiation shield - detailed plans will follow.

Regards,
engolling

tobyportugal

Hello,

I do not have a WeatherDuino AQM, but a prototype of a friend with a Sharp sensor.
My experience:
The first sensor destroyed by the spiders.
The second mounted with a lattice but more open to keep good ventilation: it did not withstand moisture.

Have a nice week end
Mine is in the airflow path of a fan. Hopefully that will keep the pests out.
Then there's the fact that most of our spiders here are huge (and poisonous) lol
So my idea is to build a similar radiation screen as described here:
https://www.tinkerunity.org/forum/index....pic=4130.0

I would like to make the diameter of the screens a bit smaller that I can fit a pipe like this:
https://www.obi.de/kunststoff-dachrinnen.../p/6807812

The diameter of the last two plates will be smaller that the pipe gets stuck in it and I would like to plage the threaded rods that I can directly fit a 60mm fan under the last big plate.
All the instruments will be protected by an aluminium insect screen.

So the air will get sucked through the pipe and the sensors can get some fresh air.
So far the plan. I will keep you updated wenn work will progress.

Moreover I would be glad if somebody else has some input about maintaining especially the dust sensor.

Regards,
engolling
There plans for two sizes of "Stevenson Screens" here:

http://www.meteocercal.info/forum/Thread...son+screen

The smaller one may be a useful housing for the AQI.

Bit expensive but quite nice,:

https://www.metcheck.co.uk/collections/i...screen-kit
Hi,

I have my AQM outside from October 2017 and without any problems (it is "very opened"):

[Image: DSC_8460-upr-sm.jpg]

[Image: DSC_8470-upr-sm.jpg]


[Image: DSC_8473-upr-sm.jpg]
(02-08-2018, 18:59)engolling Wrote: [ -> ]Moreover I would be glad if somebody else has some input about maintaining especially the dust sensor.

Regards,
engolling


Mine is working for almost a year and it seems to continue to work quite well.
Here is a link for an overview of the PMS5003 sensor, similar to the PMS7003 but with a larger fan.

http://aqicn.org/sensor/pms5003-7003/

On the review the sensor, was run for several months outdoor in continuous mode (fan always on), on our Air Quality Monitor system the fan only works for 40 seconds each 10 minutes, I believe this will reduce even more the possibility of dust accumulation inside the sensor.
Mine is simply installed inside a box with two holes on the bottom, and placed under a well ventilated porch. And yes, I'm using a fine net over the two ventilation to protect against spiders entrance (there are many where I live).

Some time ago I did some experiments placing several sensors on different places around the house. I reach the conclusion that once placed it is in a well ventilated location the results are almost the same, no mater if it is under a porch or completely exposed to weather elements, so I decided to keep mine under the porch, protected from rain.


[attachment=1568]
(02-08-2018, 22:47)hornychz Wrote: [ -> ]Hi,

I have my AQM outside from October 2017 and without any problems (it is "very opened"):

[Image: DSC_8460-upr-sm.jpg]

[Image: DSC_8470-upr-sm.jpg]


[Image: DSC_8473-upr-sm.jpg]

Hi I like the design of your AQM can you provide me with the dimensions of your enclosure and that of the solar shield you have also used. As I can create a 3d model and print it for myself

Thanks
Steve D
(03-08-2018, 21:55)Steve1506 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi I like the design of your AQM can you provide me with the dimensions of your enclosure and that of the solar shield you have also used. As I can create a 3d model and print it for myself

Thanks
Steve D

Hi Steve,
This enclosure I bought in the eBay, for example: 
https://www.ebay.com/itm/PLC-Plastic-She...3d09d619cf
for about USD 3.10. The dimensions are 115x90x72 mm ...
(04-08-2018, 14:27)hornychz Wrote: [ -> ]
(03-08-2018, 21:55)Steve1506 Wrote: [ -> ]Hi I like the design of your AQM can you provide me with the dimensions of your enclosure and that of the solar shield you have also used. As I can create a 3d model and print it for myself

Thanks
Steve D

Hi Steve,
This enclosure I bought in the eBay, for example: 
https://www.ebay.com/itm/PLC-Plastic-She...3d09d619cf
for about USD 3.10. The dimensions are 115x90x72 mm ...

Thanks for the reply what about the shield do you have a dimension for that
Pages: 1 2 3